Her Excellency Hilda C. Heine is the eighth President of the Republic of the Marshall Islands and the first Marshallese woman to be chosen as President.
President Heine is one of three women elected to the Nitijela following the November 2015 elections representing Aur Atoll for a term of four years.
President Heine previously served as Minister of Education in the administration of former President Christopher J. Loeak.
Prior to entering politics, President Heine was Program Director of Pacific Comprehensive Assistance Center at the Pacific Resources for Education and Learning (PREL) in Majuro from 2006 to 2011 and Director of Policy and Capacity Building and Scholar for FAS Education, consecutively for PREL and based in Honolulu from 1995 to 2006.

Before relocating to Hawaii, President Heine served the Government of the Republic of the Marshall Islands starting as a classroom teacher, school counselor, school administrator, college President before being named as Secretary of Education.
President Heine holds an undergraduate degree from the University of Oregon, a Master’s Degree from the University of Hawaii and an Educational Doctorate from the University of Southern California.
She was born in 1956 on Jaluit Atoll, Republic of Marshall Islands.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons