Forum Dialogue Partners

Since 1989, the Forum has held Post Forum Dialogues with key Dialogue Partners at Ministerial level.

There are currently 18 partners – Canada, People’s Republic of China, Cuba, European Union, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Philippines, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom and the United States.

A review of the Forum Dialogue process was commissioned by the Forum Secretariat following the directive of the Forum Leaders for a reassessment of its arrangements and the criteria for membership.

A review of existing Forum Dialogue Partners was called for by Forum members and undertaken in 2012. Nine Partners submitted Reassessment Reports for consideration of the Forum Officials Committee and Forum Leaders. In their 2012 Communiqué, Forum Leaders reaffirmed all existing Forum Dialogue Partners remain strategic allies for the Forum through the Dialogue mechanism, and encouraged all Partners to participate in this regular reporting process on a 3-yearly basis which will is aimed primarily at maintaining up to date and improved information on Forum Dialogue Partners.


European Union





People’s Republic of China


Republic of Korea



United Kingdom

United States of America