Deadline Extended for Applications to Represent Smaller Islands States on Regionalism Sub-Committee

Tuvalu waterfront

Tuvalu waterfront

28th November 2018

The Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat has extended the closing date for applications from individuals wishing to represent the Smaller Island States on the Forum’s Specialist Sub-Committee on Regionalism. Interested people now have until Friday 7th December 2018.

“This is an exciting opportunity. We are looking for an individual who is committed to the Forum’s vision of a free, healthy and prosperous Blue Pacific region that draws strength from its ability to work together for the common good of all,” said Chair of the Sub-Committee and Secretary General of the Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat, Dame Meg Taylor.

“The incumbent representative for our eight Smaller Island States, Teresa Manarangi-Trott of the Cook Islands, has brought a wealth of experience and perspective to the Sub-Committee over the past three years. I would like to thank her very much for her contribution to Pacific regionalism during what has been an exciting time for regional cooperation.”

The Specialist Sub-Committee on Regionalism was established in 2014 to play a central role in implementing the newly adopted Framework for Pacific Regionalism. The groups role is to identify and assess priority regional initiatives before they are presented each year to leaders of the Pacific Islands Forum.

The Sub-Committee has eight members representing different constituencies within the region: Melanesia, Polynesia, Micronesia, Australia or New Zealand, Civil society, Private sector, and the Smaller Island States. Representatives serve terms of no more than three years. The Secretary General is permanent Chair.

“We are particularly interested in hearing from Pacific islanders with expertise in analysis, economics, planning, public policy formulation, and sustainable development. People who understand the implementing capacities of our governments, organisations and communities. Applicants who are familiar with the unique circumstances of the Smaller Island States and appreciate how regional policy initiatives can make a difference at the country level,” said Dame Meg.

Formally established by the Forum in 1991 in recognition of their unique vulnerabilities, the Smaller Island States grouping comprises of Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Republic of the Marshall Islands, and Tuvalu.

Applicants must be a citizen of one of the eight Smaller Island States. A panel of three senior officials of the Forum Troika – nominated by the current Forum Chair (Nauru), the former Forum Chair (Samoa), and the incoming Forum Chair (Tuvalu) will review the candidates and appoint the new representative.

You can read the terms of reference and find an application form for the Sub-Committee here. All applications must be submitted to the Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat by no later than close of business on Friday 7th December 2018.