Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat
Smaller Island States

Smaller Island States membership within the Pacific Islands Forum comprises:

Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Niue, Palau and Tuvalu.


At the 2005 Pacific Islands Forum held in Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea, Leaders welcomed and endorsed the Pacific Plan for strengthening regional cooperation and integration.

In endorsing the Plan, Leaders agreed to note, among other things, the need to advocate the special and peculiar needs of Smaller Island States; provide special assistance for the implementation of the Pacific Plan, and ensure that they derive the fullest possible benefit from the Plan, particularly given their limited capacity and fragile and vulnerable environment.

To give effect to Leaders decision, the Smaller Islands States Unit, based at the Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat, Suva, Fiji, was established in 2006.

The goals of this Unit are to:

In 2016 SIS Leaders agreed to adopt a new Regional Strategy as the platform to ensure greater influence and presence by the SIS in shaping the regional policy agenda and direction.


Desk officers & staff of the Forum Secretariat at a planning workshop held at the Forum Secretariat headquarters in Suva, 2013


Click here to contact the individual SIS and Pacific Regionalism Coordinators.

© 2017 Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat www.forumsec.org