Submissions Received: Regional Initiative


The Third International Conference on Small Island Developing States will be held from 1 to 4 September 2014 in Apia, Samoa.


About Small Island Developing States

Small Island developing States (SIDS) is a global term that is used to group "small" island states from around the world. Within the Pacific we have recognised within our region that we have "Smaller Island States" and you can read about our work with this states here.

Small Island Developing States have their own peculiar vulnerabilities and characteristics, so that the difficulties they face in the pursuit of sustainable development are particularly severe and complex.

• Small size

• Isolation

• Climate change and sea-level rise

• Natural and environmental disasters

for instance, small size can actually be a blessing, and several SIDS, including the Maldives, Tuvalu and several Caribbean island states, are working to achieve “climate neutrality” through the use of renewable energy and other approaches.

Another island territory, Tokelau, recently began producing 100% of its energy from solar sources. And as the vice-president of Seychelles remarked in the most recent General Assembly general debate, SIDS are ideal locations for pilot projects in renewable energy and other areas, which can then be rolled out in other countries on a larger scale.

SIDS are also leading the way in ocean conservation efforts, and some of the largest Marine Protected Areas in the world are being established in the Pacific and incorporated into the Pacific Island Forum Oceanscape initiative.

As is the case for nations around the world, SIDS are making variable progress toward the Millennium Development Goals, which have 2015 as their projected endpoint. Notable gains have been made in some areas of health, education, and gender parity, while other goals continue to prove challenging for some SIDS. SIDS in all regions are actively involved in shaping the post-2015 development agenda.

The Small Island Developing States in the Pacific:

  • Cook Islands
  • Fiji
  • Kiribati
  • Marshall Islands ,
  • Federated States of Micronesia
  • Nauru
  • Niue
  • Palau
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Timor-Leste
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu

The Small Island Developing States in the rest of the world:

  • AIMS Region
  • (Atlantic, Indian Ocean, Mediterranean, and South China Sea)
  • Cape Verde
  • Comoros
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Maldives
  • Mauritius
  • São Tomé and Principe
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Caribbean Region
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Cuba
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Jamaica
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Suriname
  • Trinidad and Tobago

For further information please click here

zoom out zoom in print this page